Best Liveries Ever

Here it is: the official F1 Colours list of the greatest F1 liveries of all time. Rather than counting down a list of 10/25/100/whatever liveries from across a range of seasons (like we did in 2008), we’ve decided for this latest iteration to pick a single livery that stands out from each individual year. While this does mean that there are perhaps some surprising omissions – and that a weak year like 1979 or 2005 gets the same representation as classic ones like 1991, 1998 or 2010 – we think this gives the best representative spread of the changing face of F1 livery history since sponsorship began in 1968.

While styles and trends may change, that undefinable quality that makes a brilliant livery remains constant. Sometimes it’s the colour, sometimes it’s the sponsors, sometimes it’s an iconic place in history – sometimes it’s all of those things! You may not agree with all the choices, but hopefully your favourite is in here somewhere. And if it’s not, feel free to put us straight!

1968: Gold Leaf Team Lotus

1969: McLaren Ford

1970: Yardley Team BRM

1971: Brabham Ford

1972: John Player Special Lotus

1973: Tecno Martini Racing

1974: Marlboro Team Texaco McLaren

1975: UOP Shadow

1976: Copersucar Fittipaldi

1977: Scuderia Ferrari

1978: Parmalat Brabham Alfa Romeo

1979: Kauhsen F1

1980: Unipart Team Ensign

1981: Ragno Arrows Beta Racing

1982: Denim Tyrrell

1983: Renault Elf

1984: Marlboro McLaren TAG

1985: Skoal Racing RAM

1986: Benetton BMW

1987: Camel Lotus Honda

1988: Benetton Ford

1989: Leyton House March

1990: Scuderia Ferrari

1991: 7up Jordan

1992: Team Lotus

1993: Canon Williams Renault

1994: Rothmans Williams Renault

1995: Ursus Pacific Ilmor

1996: TWR Arrows

1997: MasterCard Lola

1998: Mild Seven Benetton Playlife

1999: West McLaren Mercedes

2000: Orange Arrows

2001: Prost Acer

2002: HSBC Jaguar Racing

2003: Mild Seven Renault

2004: BMW Williams

2005: Lucky Strike BAR Honda

2006: BMW Sauber

2007: AT&T Williams

2008: Super Aguri Honda

2009: Brawn GP

2010: Team Lotus

2011: HRT

2012: Lotus Renault

2013: Caterham

2014: Williams Martini

2015: Sahara Force India

2016: Manor Racing

2017: Scuderia Toro Rosso

2018: Renault Sport Formula One

2019: McLaren F1 Team

© Seb Patrick / F1 Colours 2019